Silence


Did you hear it? It was almost deafening. The silence, that is.

Everyone was watching the sky to see what was going to happen after the eclipse. Would the darkness reappear or would the sun peek over the horizon, when it happened. The television broadcasters were busy as well; they watched the moon as it moved into the sun’s shadows and then again as it moved out of the shadows. Their play-by-play descriptions were incredible, life-like and very discerning. They were so real you didn’t actually have to see it to experience it, just close your eyes and stay in your soft warm bed, and you would experience it through their eyes. That’s just the same, isn’t it? Experiencing it through someone else’s eyes.

But I thought I could actually feel it. It was exciting and frightening. I remember, it made me shiver just a little.

That thing streaking across the sky in the darkness. What was it? Was it a shooting star? Was it a rocket. Someone said it was a rocket. Someone else said it was an optical illusion. Someone else said it was vapor from a commercial jet. I think it was a rocket. I shivered again. There. That’s better. The silence is back. I’m warmer now and more comfortable.

The earthquakes haven’t been as frequent lately. I wonder why that is. I wondered what was causing them in the first place. No one seems to know. I heard it was because of all of the drilling the oil companies are doing, but someone else said that couldn’t possibly be it; they’ve been drilling there for years. How could that be causing the earthquakes? I don’t know. Maybe it isn’t so important since they aren’t happening so frequently now. Actually, I’m more concerned about that silence than I am the earthquakes.

Its been raining in California. Raining a lot. I heard people are actually having to evacuate their homes – pack up and move out. What a shame. Its almost Christmas and they won’t be home to open their packages under the tree. Maybe they took them with them. Yeah, that would be good. Just take the packages with you then it won’t matter if there isn’t anything left when you come back – you’ll have all that new stuff anyway. Listen! Did you hear it?

Its snowing in the upper Mid-west. I saw it on television. Snowing so heavy that traffic is piling up and people are having to dig out of their drives and some can’t even get to work. Stores are closed. Oh yeah, I heard its snowing record snowfalls in England as well. Someone said it is because of some Gulf Loop that doesn’t happen anymore because of the damage done in the Gulf of Mexico by the BP spills. I don’t think that’s true because our government said everything is cleaned up and back to normal so I don’t see how their snow is our problem. Listen! There it is again.

Did you hear about the Lame Duck Congress thing? They passed so much through that I don’t understand how they came to be called “lame duck.” Doesn’t that term denote something that is injured and can’t move quickly. I mean, ‘lame duck!’ If it’s lame, doesn’t it limp? If that’s true, then how is it that they passed so much stuff through Congress in the last couple of weeks when they couldn’t get anything through the last two years…not anything reasonable anyway. A duck isn’t like a cat with four legs that can still move on three is it? Nah, I don’t think so. If you only have two legs and one is injured, then wouldn’t you have to limp a little and be slowed down? I’ll bet they didn’t really mean lame duck but intended to say foie gras and just forgot that French term. You know, that’s when they force feed the duck to give it a bigger liver or something like that.

Yeah. I think so. Shhhh. Listen.

Last night on the news, they were reading letters from people who had written to Santa Claus asking for silly things. You know, stuff like food and a warm coat for their kids. I couldn’t believe it. Who do you know that would write to Santa Claus and ask for warm coats? Or even more so, for food. Santa doesn’t bring coats and food. Santa brings toys, doesn’t he? Come on now, every one knows that. They said some of those letters were even from adults. Now what adult in his right mind would write Santa and ask for that stuff. We all know there isn’t a Santa, don’t we?

I’m telling you, I heard it again. This silence stuff is freaking me out.

Now get this. Today I heard that the lame duck people were trying to pass a bill that would allow them to read what I write to my friends on the computer. Now imagine that. Why would they want to do that? I don’t get it. Someone told me that it wasn’t the lame duck people that were doing it but it was the President and his Starz. Oh, Czars. What’s a Czar? Well, it doesn’t matter who it is, my mother always told me that her mail was her business and no one else’s. Why would they want to read what I write?

Shhhh. Listen. Did you hear it? I heard it again. Didn’t you hear it?

Well anyway, another thing I heard today was that they passed the Start Treaty thing. Now I don’t really know what it says but I think it says that we can’t have so many rockets and that we can’t build one of those defense systems in the sky that we wanted. Oh well. It doesn’t matter. The Cold War is over now and Russia likes us and everyone knows they were our only enemy. I don’t really believe China has rockets, or Iran either. I think it is all just for show.

When He opened the seventh seal, there was silence in heaven for about half an hour. And I saw the seven angels who stand before God, and to them were given seven trumpets. (Rev 8:1,2) 

About heartlandheartbeat

Margy Pezdirtz has been a leader in the Christian Zionist movement for over twenty-five years. She has diligently worked as an activist in the church and community to increase awareness of Israel, to teach on Judeo-Christian relationships, and to promote the cause of Israel in whatever manner deemed necessary. It is her firm belief that in order to make a difference in the church, and the world, for the cause of Israel, a solid network of like-minded people has to be established at the grass roots level.
This entry was posted in Political Correctness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

