On This Night


In just a few hours the sun will be gone, darkness will set in and every child in America – and many around the world – will begin watching and waiting, hoping to hear the slight tinkle of sleigh bells as Santa Claus or Kris Kringle or Father Christmas glides through the air and comes to a halt on their rooftops. It is with delight that I remember my own son at three, standing in front of the picture window of our house on the farm, looking and watching. Finally, the shout came, “Momma, I see Rudolph.” I looked out the window, and to my amusement I saw the red blinking lights of a plane piercing the night sky. Instead of correcting my tiny guy, I took advantage of the moment and hurried him off to bed so that ‘Santa’ could come.

Tonight, I wish I could do that again – shuttle my now adult children off to bed, tuck them into warm covers and assure them that in the morning a great surprise will be awaiting them under the tree. Alas, they no longer believe in Santa Claus, nor should they, as adults. But what is there for them to look forward to at this age? There is so much responsibility on their shoulders now as dads and moms. Our world is in trouble. Deep, serious trouble. Everything around us seems to be shaking. Uncertainty wraps itself around every corner and brings fear and trembling to many.

We do still have choices though. We can choose to give into the uncertainty and be held captive by fear. Or we can choose to trust the Lord. On this, the traditional night of His birth, I choose to trust Him. I look at my Christmas tree – a ‘Jesse Tree’ this year, thanks to one of my daughters-in-law – a tree of promise from Genesis to Revelation and I know there is an answer to the dilemma that we face. I choose Jesus – my Lord and Savior and I choose to trust Him.

I will continue in the walk He has set before me, listening for direction along the way. But I can be assured that when there is uncertainty, there is Jesus. When there is fear, there is Jesus. When there is doubt about the future, there is Jesus. When it is cold and boring, I can tuck myself into the bedcovers knowing that in the morning the beauty of the day will be wrapped in the blessings of the Lord and His being the Reason for the Season.

Merry Christmas, Dear Ones, wherever you are.

About heartlandheartbeat

Margy Pezdirtz has been a leader in the Christian Zionist movement for over twenty-five years. She has diligently worked as an activist in the church and community to increase awareness of Israel, to teach on Judeo-Christian relationships, and to promote the cause of Israel in whatever manner deemed necessary. It is her firm belief that in order to make a difference in the church, and the world, for the cause of Israel, a solid network of like-minded people has to be established at the grass roots level.
This entry was posted in Political Correctness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

