Our Last Independence Day?


I wrote this article three years ago, on the eve of the election … I was passionate then and I’m still passionate today. I was worried then and even more so today – for our country. I watch with absolute dismay as I see how, for the last three years, everything that the current administration has done and continues to do, slides right off of them back into the gutter from which it came. I’ve heard the ridiculous statements of, “we have to pass the bill to see what’s in the bill,” and “it isn’t a penalty, it’s a tax” pass from glib lips to glib lips hidden behind cartoonish smiles and overly-large-eyes. Can we not see beyond the insanity of it all? Our world is collapsing around us and we do nothing.

America, as a whole, is a Christian nation, no matter what Washington says. Most of us at least believe in God and a great number of us practice our faith in Him. How many of us are actually praying for our country? How many of us are seeking His forgiveness and repenting from our unholy search for more of everything and less of Him? Please, America, wake up. It is 11:59 PM.

November 3, 2008

Dear Fellow Americans,

I’m sitting at my computer thinking about the words I want to say –  perhaps for the last time in my life –  words of freedom, hope and encouragement and I hear the stirring words of The Battle Hymn of the Republic, sung by school children, playing in my family room. I put the DVD in and pushed the repeat button – I need to hear it today, to remind myself of what an amazing country we have to love and serve. If I had a loud speaker system, I would pipe the sound into the atmosphere to be carried by the Oklahoma winds, penetrating the hearts, minds and homes of my neighbors.

I was raised on a farm in Northern Oklahoma, by honest, hard working parents who had a love for country and a belief in the future for their children and grandchildren. No one gave them anything – they made a life for themselves and they were proud of their accomplishments. We flew our flag –  the American Flag – with great pride. On the Fourth of July, we celebrated our freedom with fireworks, home made ice cream and the wonder of it all. My parents would never have thought America’s freedom and independence would be placed on the auction block for the highest bidder to grab and throw away, as could happen tomorrow if Obama wins this election. Why would they? My uncle was a Marine who fought in some of the toughest battles during World War II so that we could remain free. Our neighbor boy, one of my dad’s hired men, left the farm and went to war in Korea, to fight for our freedom. My sister’s husband fought in Viet Nam. And the list goes on: family members, neighbors, friends – all of whom went off to war to fight for this country – the place of freedom that they loved enough to be willing to sacrifice their lives for if need be.

Where did we lose it? How did America, the land of the free and the brave, get so far off track? How can this be? How did we allow a freedom hating, American hating, person to run for the highest office in the land. Isn’t this an abuse of the very freedom that has sustained us?

Was it when prayer in school was ripped away from us by one woman filled with hate for the God who established us? Was it when the Ten Commandments, the very foundation of our legal system, were ordered removed from court house lawns? Was it when the ACLU began fighting against anything sane and reasonable in this country, challenging rational thought in the courts? Was it when the words, ‘politically correct’, began to be hammered into our heads by politicians? Was it when Hollywood decided they were intelligent – and could tell us how to vote?

My heart is grieved by the split I’ve seen in our country. I’ve watched and done nothing, as the left has leaned so far over the side that they could slide off the globe if someone doesn’t grab them. And, I’ve watched as the right – has turned from the conservative values that I grew up with into the uncertainty of centralization and left leaning. How did this happen? Where did we go so wrong?

Tomorrow, I am going to the polls to vote for my freedom, for your freedom, for the freedom of my children and grandchildren. I’m going to take my nine year old granddaughter with me because it might be the last time she sees this wonderful responsibility take place. I want her to be able to say, “I voted once” because I’m not sure she’ll have that right when she is eighteen. This thing – freedom – that we’ve treasured so deeply and protected at great cost, has been thrown into the gutter by the liars and cheats of ACORN as non-qualified people have been registered to vote and have filled our once pure voting rolls with the shame of degradation. Where is the integrity of such behavior. How dare we sacrifice lives in Iraq for their freedom and forfeit ours here?

A candidate who promised to take only government authorized funding for this election, has tainted the entire process by receiving enormous funds from what appears to be illegal donations, and in doing so, has set out to buy this election with lies and venom that are reprehensible. He has challenged our freedom just as much as those who flew the planes into the World Trade Center. I pray freedom still is strong enough in our hearts to stand up and fight against this mockery of our system.

Last night, our little church had a serious prayer meeting. We prayed repentance and asked God to forgive us, one more time, and to protect the freedom that now hangs so tenderly in the balance. We prayed that the election will go to McCain – the only choice for freedom that we have. We prayed that never again, will we sit idly by and watch as that which we’ve hallowed is ripped from our hands. We prayed that we will fight for righteousness before it is completely gone from our land. We prayed for protection for McCain and Palin and their families and that God will strengthen and uplift them through these last hours of the campaign and then the months ahead. And, we prayed for ourselves – our families and friends – that somehow we will find the courage to stand when the ground is shaking so violently.

2 Chron 7:13 “When I shut up heaven and there is no rain, or command the locusts to devour the land, or send pestilence among My people, 14 if My people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land.”

Father, please forgive us and heal our land.

May God Bless America,

About heartlandheartbeat

Margy Pezdirtz has been a leader in the Christian Zionist movement for over twenty-five years. She has diligently worked as an activist in the church and community to increase awareness of Israel, to teach on Judeo-Christian relationships, and to promote the cause of Israel in whatever manner deemed necessary. It is her firm belief that in order to make a difference in the church, and the world, for the cause of Israel, a solid network of like-minded people has to be established at the grass roots level.
This entry was posted in America, Church, Prophetic, www.battalionofdeborah.org, www.truthprovider.com. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our Last Independence Day?

  1. S Dale says:

    Completely agree with this article. In early 2008 I knew that if Obama were to be elected in November that we might not see a normal election in 2012. I was living in Israel at the time and many there were thinking Obama would be good for Israel….vote Democratic, after all, Hillary was so good for Israel in the past and when Pres. Clinton was in office. My spirit kept telling me that if elected in 2008, we would be in a national (U.S.) crises – possibly involved in a war either in the U.S. or embroiled elsewhere. As we see now, the threat of war in Israel with Iran is thought to occur within the next few weeks and could very well be the trigger Pres. Obama will use his Executive Oders to shut down our election this year….all in the name of ‘National Security’ and the edict that he must remain in office until the threat to our security is over. We know he is not able to do this under the Constitution of the United States of America, but he has already used his Executive Order to thwart our Congress and its laws…..what will keep him from doing this again? Then we have the history of previous elections when we were at war in a Presidential election year….the Incumbent usually wins. I’m a gentile Christian who believes the Bible from cover to cover. I believe God is love and full of mercy, but He is also just. Unless we truely repent and turn from our wicked ways I’m afraid we will fall under God’s hand of Justice.

Leave a Reply

