Whose Rights Trump Whose Rights?


The Bill of Rights set out some pretty terrific rules – and rights – that American citizens are to enjoy. Our Founding Fathers wanted this to be a nation free of the bondage their forefathers had fled in Europe. In order to assure those freedoms, they first established the Bill of Rights, which later became the first Ten Amendments to the Constitution of the United States. It was pretty simple, actually. We were granted personal freedoms which wethre not precisely and clearly expressed in the main body of the Constitution.

Do things like Freedom of Religion, Freedom of Speech, a Free Press, and the Right to a Free Assembly sound familiar?
∙    How about the Right to Keep and Bear Arms?
∙    Freedom from Un- reasonable Search and Seizure, Security in Personal Effects and the Freedom from Warrants Issued Without Probable Cause?
∙    How about Freedom from Indictment by a Grand Jury for any Capital or “Infamous Crime”- (something that has the death penalty attached to it)?
∙    Or, perhaps the Right to a Speedy, Public Trial with an Impartial Jury?
∙    Or, Prohibition of Double Jeopardy? (That’s being tried more than once for the same crime-ask Amanda Knox how this feels.)
Additionally, the Bill of Rights reserves – for the people – any rights not specifically mentioned in the Constitution and reserves all powers not specifically granted to the federal government to the People or the States!

Does any of that sound familiar? Is it too idealistic to comprehend? Apparently it is. In these not-so-United States, we seem to have lost all sense of decorum and what is “right”. We’ve become so engrossed in ourselves that our personal rights are more important than the rights of our neighbor, our friends, and even our families. We’ve become a “I want what I want and I want it right now!” people. How tragic is that!

I’ve been listening now for several months – maybe even as much as the last 5 ½ years – to the clamoring for “my rights” no matter what yours are. I’ve watched – horrified – as I’ve seen people on television be reduced to shouting, “he gives me good stuff” – for free, of course. Free for whom? The person getting it, of course. But, not free to me. I’m the one paying for it. So your desire to have a cell phone, no matter what, trumps my desire to provide for my family? Really.

If your desire to have a cell phone, no matter what, is so important, why don’t you get a job and buy your own. Wouldn’t that be the best solution for all of us? You would have the pride and responsibility of ownership and I would be able to buy an extra bag of groceries for my family. We would all win – wouldn’t we? Or do you care?

What about your sex life? I really don’t care what you do in the privacy of your bedroom. Why do you think I need to know what you do? Why do you think I need to embrace what you do? Is what you do so wrong and you feel so guilty about it that you can’t stand yourself and you want me – someone who doesn’t believe in that – to embrace you and say, “That’s all right honey, I know you can’t help yourself?”

Are you really that guilt laden? If you are, then why don’t you do something about it. Why do you need to force yourself upon me and rape me for my beliefs. That’s what it is, you know – rape. You want me to surrender to your will. If I don’t, you’ll force me, no matter what I say or do or fight. Is that your idea of freedom?

My idea of freedom is to leave you alone and allow you to do whatever you want to do, in the privacy of your home. But when you inflict your inclinations on me, then you are robbing me of my freedoms and that is wrong. It is as wrong as wrong can be. Do not rape me!

Why does it bother you that we have the Ten Commandments on ten-commandments-tablets-thumb5548826our public property? You don’t live by them so why do they bother you? Do you feel guilty that you don’t live by them? If so, you are the one that can change that – not me. When you chose not to live by the Ten Commandments I didn’t come and scream at you, did I? No, I didn’t. I don’t understand why you would make that choice, but that’s your business – not mine. So then, why do you feel so guilty? Why do those signs bother you?

If I want to pray in public, what’s that to you? You don’t pray in public – in fact, you don’t even believe in prayer, or so you say. So why does it bother you that I pray, no matter where I pray? Is it because secretly, way down deep, you do believe there is a god and you know what you are doing is wrong, and if you can remove all godliness from the face of the earth, you won’t have to face condemnation? Wrong. I’m not condemning you – that’s not my job. You’ll have to figure out who it is that is condemning you and making you feel so guilty. But leave me alone while I pray. I might even pray for you, secretly of course.

In the meantime, think on this: I will not bow down to you. I will not let you rape me. I will no longer tolerate your – or the people whom you think represent you – raping me, my children, my family, and definitely not my God! I will stand and I will fight. Think on that. Your rights do not trump my rights. My rights do not trump your rights. But I will stand and fight for my rights, and yours, so that we can and will maintain a free country. Not for free ‘things’ but for free people.

About heartlandheartbeat

Margy Pezdirtz has been a leader in the Christian Zionist movement for over twenty-five years. She has diligently worked as an activist in the church and community to increase awareness of Israel, to teach on Judeo-Christian relationships, and to promote the cause of Israel in whatever manner deemed necessary. It is her firm belief that in order to make a difference in the church, and the world, for the cause of Israel, a solid network of like-minded people has to be established at the grass roots level.
This entry was posted in America, Dangerous weeds, Freedom, learning, Minorities, Oklahoma, Political Correctness, preparation, Second Amendment, stolen identity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

