The Telephone Survey


It was an unknown number but, for some strange reason I answered it. It was a political survey – seven months before the mid-term elections; and, by the grace and mercy of God, 31 months before the next Presidential election. I don’t know what made me do it but I agreed to answer the questions, at least for a while.

The first question was, “Hello. Is this Margaret P?” I t was obvious she couldn’t say my last name and wasn’t even going to give it a try.

The next question was: “Would you rather have the questions in English or another language?” Now that was a hard one to answer. This is America. The given language is English. Why would I want it the questions in another language if they were to be political questions – about politics in America. I wonder, what would have happened had I answered, “Yes, I’d like them in Hebrew please.”

My answer: “This IS America. We speak English here.”

Do  you speak English?

Do you speak English?

Next question: “How many times do you vote? Do you vote in all elections, some of them, or just a few?” My answer: “All of them. I always vote.”

Next question: “Did you vote in the most recent election?”

Okay, now I’m looking at the end button on my phone and wondering if I should push it. Did she not understand my answer to the previous question. “I always vote.” I took a deep breath and answered, “Yes, I voted in the last election.”

Next question: “Would you say you always vote Democrat? Or would you say you always vote Republican? Or would you say you always vote Independent?” My answer: “I don’t say how I vote.”

Now the caller was confused. That wasn’t a question on her computer screen. From there on, it went down hill. She asked a few more questions, all of which had multiple choice answers most of which didn’t fit my thoughts. I confused her even more when my answers weren’t in alignment with the check marks she needed to make in the boxes.

Finally, her last question, was: “What is your first name.” I said, “You know my first name. You started off this conversation with it.”

“Well,” she said, “that was in the beginning and the computer won’t let me go back up so I don’t know your first name.”

“It’s Alicia.” I said. Now, totally confused because she knew that wasn’t right even though she obviously didn’t remember my first name, we ended the conversation.

I thought about it for a while and I wondered which political party it was that hired someone who was totally clueless to make phone calls on a Sunday afternoon that are more likely to turn voters off than inspiring them to vote. This girl – and she was that, a young person – didn’t know what day it was other than she needed a job and this was her way of filling that box in her life – making phone calls.

But then, isn’t that typical of our political parties now. They, too,

U.S. Congress Building - "No one at home"

U.S. Congress Building – “No one at home”

are clueless. Make the call. Get the answers. Build the statistics. But do they ever consider what the voters are really thinking? Do they have a clue how frustrated we are with them – the politicians in Washington, in the State Capitol? Do they know that we would just as soon throw them all out because we don’t think any of them, and I mean ANY, are trust worthy?

Last election, we had a young guy from Oklahoma enter the political arena. He was an outstanding Christian man, married, the father of two young girls, who felt “God told him” to run for office. He wasn’t in my district so I didn’t vote for him, but I’ve watched his career. Not very impressive. Now he’s running for Senator to replace Senator Coburn and, he’s become another Washington politician. Just like the rest of them. Did God tell him to run? I don’t know.

I’ve watched with interest as different Tea Party candidates have taken a stand in Washington. I’ve been quite taken by some of them, even proud of them. I’ve listened as the media has done it’s best to destroy Ted Cruz for having the audacity to hold a 23 hour talking session – not a filibuster, mind you – just a long talk. Why? To try to stop Obamacare. Oh, he was the laughing stock of the media and, for a while, of some of the other politicians until they saw that people – ordinary people like you and me – were paying attention and approving. Then they got on the band wagon as well.

Obamacare went into effect anyway – and now, 33 changes and delays later, no one knows what is actually going on with that. It is a mess. An absolute mess. Perhaps that’s the way it was planned so we would be forced into a one payer situation. I don’t know – but I do know it was not good, it wasn’t designed to be good, and it looks as though it will never be good for anything other than creating chaos in what was once a very good health care situation in America.

Back to the survey. Do you ever wish you could call your politician and survey him? I have done that, I’ve even called those who are not my politicians. Did you know you can’t contact a politician that isn’t in your district and state? Nope! Notta. Can’t do it. Except, you can if you call their state offices, which I’ve learned to do and have done. That’s my take on all of this.

Forget the surveys. They are rigged to be colored the way the poll takers want them. Just hang up and enjoy whatever it was you were doing before the phone rang. Or, better yet, don’t bother to answer. I won’t answer the next time – you can’t fix stupid so why try?

About heartlandheartbeat

Margy Pezdirtz has been a leader in the Christian Zionist movement for over twenty-five years. She has diligently worked as an activist in the church and community to increase awareness of Israel, to teach on Judeo-Christian relationships, and to promote the cause of Israel in whatever manner deemed necessary. It is her firm belief that in order to make a difference in the church, and the world, for the cause of Israel, a solid network of like-minded people has to be established at the grass roots level.
This entry was posted in America, Freedom, Oklahoma, Political Correctness, Tea Party, Ted Cruz, U.S. Capitol. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

