Spinning


 

Soapy water makes a lazy, circular spin, yawning and stretching as it moves slowly toward the drain where it is invited to come on down where ‘the slide is easy.’ Sometimes it leaves a residue that has to be rinsed and dried out; sometimes it leaves a clean and shiny path behind it. I’ve thought a lot about circular motions this day as I’ve made my circle of errands. Generally, the car is the only place where I listen to the radio – the only time in the day that is idle enough to take in the chatter. Today was no different.

 

This morning as I drove my toy poodle to the groomer I was listening to early morning talk radio. Oddly enough, I heard an intelligent man talk about current events in Washington, particularly about the resignation of John Boehner’s from his speaker of the House of Representatives position. As I listened to the voice on the radio I began to understand that what I had wanted to happen had actually happened.

 

When Boehner was first elected by his peers to the position of Speaker of the House, I was quite happy. I thought he was a good man, a conservative with a solid foundation and that surely he, of all people, would get Congress moving and make a difference. Alas, he was like those that had preceded him except for one thing – he cries! (I’m not against men showing emotion, but oh my goodness – all the time!)

 

Although I am not from Ohio, I wrote Boehner a few weeks ago – yes, I figured out how to do it – and suggested he resign. I tried to be kind but I really didn’t have kindness in my heart. I’ve stood back and watched as the people whom we elected to protect and guard our country have only sought to raise themselves to higher positions and to heck with the country. I had put Boehner in that same category and I thought it was time for him to step down.

 

His resignation speech was interesting – almost pathetic. He said after he had spoken with the Pope – and prayed for him – he decided to step down. Really! I would have liked to have been a fly on the wall hearing that conversation! It didn’t ring true and I wondered what the truth was. This morning, I believe I heard it as a Representative Massie told that Boehner was about to be brought forth on a no-confidence vote. Ah, that makes sense. That I understand.

 

So what now? As I made my circle of errands today, I had opportunity to listen to several programs all of which were focused on Congress, who the next speaker will be, who will run, and who will win. There is a tremendous amount of frustration in Congress, just as there is in the voting world. We sent people to Washington to make a change, not to get on the glory train. We don’t need another pretty boy like Boehner; give us a little bandy rooster like Trey Gowdy that has the tenacity to hold people’s feet to the fire until something gets done. It is time for change.

 

It is important to remember that the Speaker of the House is two heartbeats away from being the President of the United States. That, in and of itself, is very important! I, for one, will be contacting my Congresspeople this week and urge them – urge them, urge them – to carry out the standards that we sent them to Washington with – make a change, stop the insanity. Do something righteous for a change.

 

As for me, I’m glad Boehner is leaving – delighted. Now I pray that we can put a man or woman in that position that has the guts to stand up FOR AMERICA.

 

And, while we are at it, isn’t it about time for Mitch McConnell to retire?

About heartlandheartbeat

Margy Pezdirtz has been a leader in the Christian Zionist movement for over twenty-five years. She has diligently worked as an activist in the church and community to increase awareness of Israel, to teach on Judeo-Christian relationships, and to promote the cause of Israel in whatever manner deemed necessary. It is her firm belief that in order to make a difference in the church, and the world, for the cause of Israel, a solid network of like-minded people has to be established at the grass roots level.
This entry was posted in America, economy, Political Correctness, stupid people, Tea Party. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

