The Quandry


I just read a quick quip embedded in an article about Republican Candidate for President, Donald J. Trump. In the article the woman said, “I’ll vote for Trump when I know what’s in it for me.”

Hmmm. ‘What’s in it for me…’ Isn’t that what got us – America – into the place we are in now? Wasn’t the reason Barak Hussein Obama was elected President of the United States because he promised all kinds of things for the ‘me-ism-people’? I think it was. I remember specifically one lady of color screaming, “He’s gonna give me things. A phone. All kinds of things.” I also remember another woman, I believe she was a single mom, telling her daughter “I won’t have to worry about putting gas in my car. I won’t have to worry about paying my mortgate….” I wonder how that worked for her.

Really! Is that really what we want in America. The me-ism is what got us where we are now. People were so focused on what we could get that we failed to see what we would get was a country divided almost to the point of civil war. Is that really what we want now?

What ever happened to Kennedy’s statement, “And so, my fellow Americans: ask not what your country can do for you – ask what you can do for your country.” Are we so far away from the Kennedy era that we can’t remember a statement that is so poignant? Apparently we are.

In the embedded quote in the article I read, the lady said, “The notion that you can talk about people and say, ‘We’re not going to let you into our country, we’re going to deport you because of your religion’ – this has happened to us, more than once, and we need to pay attention.’” Indeed, we do need to pay attention.

Few Americans understand the lady’s reference to her past as a Jew – not hers specifically but that of the Jewish people. We here in America stand guilty of rejecting the S.S. St. Louis in the spring of 1939, a ship loaded with Jews who were seeking asylum in Cuba and/or the United States (http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/jsource/Holocaust/stlouis.html). That ship was refused landing privileges and sent back to Germany where many on board eventually perished in the hideous Holocaust. Although I am not Jewish, I believe I understand her frustration and her fears. There was a difference though.

The Jews on that ship did not wish to kill us. They merely wanted to be free people, to escape Hitler and his minions. Their motives were clear and precious; ours were not. That is a tragedy we Americans who grew up and were educated in public schools know little about; however, American Jews who were educated in Jewish schools know a great deal about that. It is one of those things our country did that we should all be ashamed of.

But, back to my point. The 908 Jewish refugees on that ship sought only life for themselves and their families, current and future. They were willing to come to a new country and be a vital part of that country. On the other hand, there is no clarity on the so-called Syrian refugees seeking asylum in Europe and wanting to come to America. While I have a heart that says ‘let them come’ my head says, ‘why are they all young men of fighting age and few families? What is their intent? Where are the families?’. Therein is the problem.

One group of people wanted to come to America and become citizens, to work beside us and help grow our country. The goals of the other group is unclear but many of us, me included, question their integrity and their agenda. Since they are young men that look healthy, why aren’t they staying in their country and fighting for the freedom and liberation of their country instead of fleeing? Where are their families? What is their ultimate goal?

While I hear the lady’s heart and concerns, I do not agree with her. Our borders have been open entirely too long. It is time for us to shut the borders, establish clear criteria for coming to this country and then enforce it. There isn’t room for any more murderers in this country. If the last two weekends – Dallas and Baton Rouge – don’t lay witness to that, then what does? I am going to have to agree with Candidate Trump. Shut the borders. Build a fence. Become discerning about who comes into this country. If they cannot prove their intent, then send them back.

Basically, ‘what can I do for my country?’ I can stand guard on a border and I can watch and pray. I can pray that people like this dear lady stop and think – it is important that we think about our country. I am all for helping the down trodden and I am all for LEGAL immigration. I have no pity or compassion for those who try to come in illegally. Let us protect our country then we can better help people who genuinely need it.

About heartlandheartbeat

Margy Pezdirtz has been a leader in the Christian Zionist movement for over twenty-five years. She has diligently worked as an activist in the church and community to increase awareness of Israel, to teach on Judeo-Christian relationships, and to promote the cause of Israel in whatever manner deemed necessary. It is her firm belief that in order to make a difference in the church, and the world, for the cause of Israel, a solid network of like-minded people has to be established at the grass roots level.
This entry was posted in America, Church, Israel, learning, Minorities, Political Correctness, preparation, Preparedness, Terrorists, Trump. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Quandry

  1. I agree, for the protection of the American citizens from illegals wanting to do harm we need to
    be discerning.

Leave a Reply

